Ramps for working on truck

1,881 Views | 24 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by austinag1997
George08
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I've been using a set of rhino ramps from OReilly for a few years but today I went up off center and cracked both my ramps. I know- user error, but still a little scary how they cracked (chunk of plastic broke off side wall on both ramps. I'd like to replace them with something better if there is anything within reason. Use is half ton pick up, mostly for oil changes.

What do y'all recommend?
GrapevineAg
AG
Quality jack stands with a capacity much more than your vehicle weight.
CanyonAg77
AG
Jack stands plus a good floor jack of at least 3 tons capacity. Crawling under several tons of vehicle is no place to go cheap
robertcope
I use Rhino Ramps for my truck when they make sense and Esco 3-ton jack stands when they make sense: https://esco.net/product/3-ton-performance-jack-stand-pair/
Roger350
AG
Which version of the Rhino Ramps did this happen on? Got any pictures to share so we can see the weak spots to keep an eye on. I think the ones I just bought second hand are rated for 16k lbs, which seems insane. But I over bought and the heaviest thing they will ever see is my Tahoe and Pacific.

I also have a set of 4 of those Esso 3-ton jack stands, a set of the 7000 lbs quick jacks, and at the moment only 2 floor jacks because I just discarded a 3-ton Sam's special I had since 1990 that was my 3rd I used as a backup.

Looking for a decent replacement jack too, maybe I have a problem...
austinag1997
AG
GrapevineAg said:

That isn't a good idea. Without appropriate weight on jackstands they can potentially disengage.
CanyonAg77
AG
austinag1997 said:

GrapevineAg said:

That isn't a good idea. Without appropriate weight on jackstands they can potentially disengage.

Please explain. The ones I use won't disengage with any amount of weight
Flaith
AG