Outdoors
Sponsored by

2024 Western Hunting Thread

30,577 Views | 280 Replies | Last: 2 hrs ago by suburban cowboy
ttha_aggie_09
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I've been hearing about Archery OTC going away for a few years now. This sucks… l
BrazosBQ
AG
CO Senate confirmed 2 of 3 animal rights types to the CPW Commission today, all 3 had been serving on the board for a couple months. 3rd dropped out before the vote due to the backlash from the hunting community. Ballot measure to ban mountain lion/bobcat hunting will go to public vote in November election, assuming enough signatures are gathered (very likely). Language in the ballot measure will set a precedent that could be used to outlaw hunting of anything/everything. Would strongly encourage folks who hunt the west to get involved with Howl.org and donate to CRWM, seem to be the best outfits/avenues for fighting against this stuff and making your voice heard to the powers that be. At the rate the urban centers of TX are growing, this will be on our doorstep before we know it too.

Losing OTC seasons, while not ideal and a double edged sword of less opportunity but less crowding, is unfortunately not the biggest problem facing hunters in CO. I'd imagine CPW is stepping into this with archery first, and then next season structure cycle or two would go to draw on all the rifle seasons.

Apologies for the F16 rant. Planning to burn 6 elk points in CO this year, undecided on season as of now.
BurnetAggie99
If we go out West it's hard to beat going out to Idaho for Mule Deer and Elk. Non residents can get OTC tags for both. Also ample public land & BLM to hunt
DG96
AG
BurnetAggie99 said:

If we go out West it's hard to beat going out to Idaho for Mule Deer and Elk. Non residents can get OTC tags for both. Also ample public land & BLM to hunt