Latest commit - and it's a doozy

12,244 Views | 51 Replies | Last: 26 days ago by 94chem
Aggie Dad 26
How long do you want to ignore this user?
TarponChaser said:

Sean98 said:

Can I ask a related/unrelated question? And to be clear, I'm excited for this commitment but it brings something up that I've been wondering about... particularly as it relates to projectability.

This kid will be 19.25 years old when he steps on campus. Do parents intentionally start their kids late in school these days? Do they hold them back at some point? I was 17 when I walked on the A&M campus. I looked at his pitching stats and thought "he's a junior to be so he'll add 3-5mph" and he may. But he's almost the same age I was when I graduated HS.

And this isn't a JD thing, it happens a lot it seems these days. Just curious.

It happens a lot. I even know a bunch of kids whose parents have taken them out of school to repeat 8th grade via homeschool and reclassify them. And not just summer birthdays either but kids born in the middle of the school year like in January.

There's a lot of disagreement over whether or not it's a good move.

This is a great question.

I didn't realize it until after I graduated. But through social media I learned that a large number of my HS classmates had been held back a year. It was weird learning this after all those years of being around each other. I had always assumed we were all the same age. Seems like the majority of my tiny graduating class of 57 students, class of 98' was a year older than me.

We totally dominated in football too.
AggByMarriage
Sean98 said:

Can I ask a related/unrelated question? And to be clear, I'm excited for this commitment but it brings something up that I've been wondering about... particularly as it relates to projectability.