Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Stock Markets - Swing and Longer Term Trades

157,048 Views | 930 Replies | Last: 12 hrs ago by Bob Knights Paper Hands
AGSmith
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Orlando Ayala Cant Read said:

WGann3 said:

Anyone here taking a longer position on NET (Cloudflare)? I've seen it come up here and there in the faster paced thread. Don't think it's been discussed at all here. It's got my attention, but it's a reddit darling which typically means it's a new Robinhood investor go to... which isn't necessarily a bad thing. But always gives me a little pause.
I'm in it for the long haul. My current long hauls are:

APPL (I have posted several times and I could be wrong as I'm still very new to this, I think this is going to really blow up again post split)
AMD
AMZN
DAL
DOCU
MRK
MSFT
NET
RDS.A
SAVE
XERS

I'm curious why RDS.A instead of XOM. I have some cash that I'm looking to put into a high dividend yield stock and both of those are among the ones I'm considering.
Bob Knights Paper Hands
RightWingConspirator said:

I've thought about options, but I am hoping to hold on to the underlying for three to five years. These aren't swing trades for me.

Options can be useful even for long-term investments. For instance you could buy ITM calls for a stock that you think will go up. Buying ITM instead of OTM or ATM reduces theta decay as you get closer to the expiration date, so it mostly tracks the gains of the stock. However since your initial investment is a fraction of the stock price instead of the full stock price, the percentage gains (or losses) are higher. Once the expiration date comes you can sell some of the options if you want, but let the other ones exercise and take possession of the stock shares for long term hold.

You could also sell puts as a way to pocket premium or enter a stock at a lower net price than you think the stock will be in the future and then hold those shares long term.
frankm01